Search in: Word
Vietnamese keyboard: Off
Virtual keyboard: Show
Computing (FOLDOC) dictionary
Orange Book
Jump to user comments
security, standard A standard from the US Government
U.S. National Security Agency), "Trusted Computer System
Evaluation Criteria, DOD standard 5200.28-STD, December 1985"
which defines criteria for trusted computer products. There
are four levels, A, B, C, and D. Each level adds more
features and requirements.
D is a non-secure system.
C1 requires user log-on, but allows group ID.
C2 requires individual log-on with password and an audit
mechanism. (Most Unix implementations are roughly C1, and
can be upgraded to about C2 without excessive pain).
Levels B and A provide mandatory control. Access is based on
standard Department of Defense clearances.
B1 requires DOD clearance levels.